The Runaway Wife ~ Book Review

The Runaway Wife

Published July 12, 2016

* I received an ARC of this book for review*

Synopsis

Three beautiful French sisters entrust an American hiker with the mission of rescuing their mother high in the Alps.

But what if she doesn’t want to be found?

Recently fired from his high-power finance job and dumped by his fiancée, Jim Olsen has come to the Swiss Alps to clear his head. At the charming Cabane des Audannes, he meets Clio, Thalia and Helene Castellane, who are on a quest of their own: their mother, Calliope, has fled to these mountains to escape her philandering politician husband’s most recent scandal. As snow threatens to descend upon the Alps, the women have come to bring their mother home.

But the sisters are at the point of surrender; it is time for them to return to Paris. Buoyed by wine and inspired by their beauty, Jim impetuously volunteers to assume their search, but soon realizes that he is in over his head. The Alps are filled with beauty and danger, not the least of which is Calliope’s desire to stay hidden. And all the while Jim finds himself haunted by the memory of her daughters and conflicted in his desire for them.(GR)

My Thoughts

I was contacted by Harper Collins to review this book back in July. Due to this pregnancy my biggest reading slump of 2016 was in full swing. I finally managed to finish it and I have to say that it wasn’t my favorite book this year.

I liked the way the author described everything in the book. I could imagine seeing the Alps for myself and would love to go there now. I just couldn’t really connect with any of the characters. I was sad that  Calliope had to leave her getaway up in the mountains to return to her abusive husband. I am happy that Jim seemed to find love again.

This book to me is about finding your true self and to find happiness with your life. It did give me hope that everyone should strive for each in their own lives. Not to conform or give up your own happiness just to make others happy.

 

wpid-3-stars.png

happy-reading.jpg

Leave a Reply

