Dust~ Book Review

Dust

Published October 12th 2004 by Laurel Leaf

Synopsis

SEVEN-YEAR-OLD MATTHEW DISAPPEARS one day on a walk into Horshoe, a dust bowl farm town in Depression-era Saskatchewan. Other children go missing just as a strange man named Abram Harsich appears in town. He dazzles the townspeople with the promises of a rainmaking machine. Only Matthew’s older brother Robert seems to be able to resist Abram’s spell, and to discover what happened to Matthew and the others.

 

My Thoughts

I have been seeing a lot of free books on my Facebook feed that pop up here and there. This was one of them. So I filled out the little form and joined the author’s newsletter. They sent me a free audiobook through Audible. It wasn’t a long audiobook either which I was very pleased about. Not that I have anything against long audiobooks.

I found this book to be quite enjoyable. I wasn’t to sure what it was about but I liked it. It reminded me a lot of The Golden Compass with the Dust being what it actually is. I knew when Abram entered the picture with his rainmaking machine with promises to make it rain during a drought,  I knew something just wasn’t right.

It has good character development and the story did have a creepy edge to it. Which kept me intrigued. Overall its a fast read or listen.

 

wpid-3-stars.png

Amazon ~ Goodreads

Leave a Reply

