Elementals: The Prophecy of Shadows Review

The Prophecy of Shadows (Elementals, #1)

*Received this e-book for an honest review*

Synopsis

Witches are real. They’re descendants of the Greek gods.

Nicole Cassidy is a witch descended from the Greek gods… but she doesn’t know it until she moves to a new town and discovers a dangerous world of magic and monsters that she never knew existed.

When the Olympian Comet shoots through the sky for the first time in three thousand years, Nicole and four others — including mysterious bad-boy Blake — are gifted with elemental powers. But the comet has another effect — it opens the portal to another dimension that has imprisoned the Titans for centuries. After an ancient monster escapes, it’s up to Nicole and the others to follow a cryptic prophecy in time to save the town… and possibly the world. (Goodreads)

My Thoughts

I was asked to read and review this book by the author, Michelle Madow. What was funny is that I knew her name but couldn’t place where I knew it from. Then I scoured my bookshelf and realized I had a signed ARC of her book, The Secret Diamond Sisters.

The Secret Diamond Sisters (The Secret Diamond Sisters, #1)

So I was very happy to read her newer books and I was not disappointed with it at all.

This book was very fast paced and I could not stop reading it. I read it in less than a week and that’s good for me because I’ve been in such a slump these past 6 months. This was the perfect book to pull me out of it. I haven’t read any books on witches or witchcraft but when I read the synopsis and it said it has a Greek mythology twist to it I had to read it.

I loved the writing style of this novel because it was so easy to read and follow. Everything that happens in the book is so thought out and it flowed very well. I also loved all of the main characters in the story. I’m usually rolling my eyes at teenage angst in books but the way that Nicole and Blake’s friendship blossoms was not to rushed. There is a mystery to why they are drawn to each other. The 5 elements that each person represents are: Earth, Water, Air, Fire, and Spirit. Of course my nerdy brain went to the movie The Fifth Element but I had to pull myself back.

The way that each person in the group of 5 have to use their special power in order to find the next clue in the prophecy is great. I do really like the magic system in the story too, different colors mean different things. As the book moves along the characters not only grow in their own power but end up needing each other to get the job done. Nicole finds out that she may be more than just your regular witch, she is something completely unique.

 

24f5d-6a00df351efabe88330192aa9a8f41970d-pi

If this book sounds interesting to you go to Michelle’s website and you can download this first book in the series for FREE!!!!

http://michellemadow.com/

About the Author

Michelle Madow

She grew up in Baltimore, and now lives in Boca Raton, Florida, where she writes books for young adults. Some of her favorite things are: reading, traveling, pizza, time travel, Broadway musicals, and spending time with friends and family. Michelle went on a cross-country road trip from Florida to California and back to promote her books and to encourage high school students to embrace reading and writing. Someday, she hopes to travel the world for a year on a cruise ship. (Amazon)

Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

happy-reading.jpg

Book 2 !!!!

The Blood of the Hydra (Elementals, #2)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

