Red Queen Review

Synopsis

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. There, before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess, and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays the only certainty is betrayal.

This sweeping story of palace intrigue, class hierarchy, and deception will keep readers hurtling along, desperate to find out Mare’s fate. Her honesty and determination, quick wit, and no-holds-barred attitude will surely make readers fall in love with her.

My Thoughts

When I first heard about this book, through Booktube, I thought it sounded very interesting. I never did buy it though due to the fact that the hype was so high, that it intimidated me. A couple of months ago I won a giveaway over on IG for the Red Queen, Glass Sword and also Cruel Crown ( novella) and I decided it was about time I gave it a chance.

Screenshot_2016-02-24-15-16-31-1

WELL nature had other plans and it was around that time I got pregnant and all reading was out the window. In July I decided to give reading a try and epically failed at it. So I went to Hoopla app and borrowed the audiobook. I was so relieved that I was actually able to finish a book finally!!!

This book was such a blast to listen to. Its filled with action, adventure, mystery and even some romance ( not a whole lot which I liked). Mare is such a confident and brave girl throughout everything she is put up against. I loved the ability that the author gave her and cheered for her throughout the book. Actually all of the Silver’s abilities were pretty cool but if I had to choose it would be like Mare’s. I also loved the fact that the prince’s roles are not stereotypical. They are two of the characters who developed a little differently than I thought would happen.

For me there were no real surprises in the book. It felt like it had your typical dystopian “one girl against the world” trope. Which don’t get me wrong I just devour. So if you are looking for a book after your Hunger Games or Divergent hangovers then this is a series for you. I am gearing up to read the second book, Glass Sword, probably next month.

Thanks for stopping by!!!

 

Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

happy-reading.jpg

PS GUYS…… I JUST SAW THAT THE THIRD BOOK IS COMING OUT ON FEB. 7TH, 2017!!!!

I’LL HAVE TO GO AND PREORDER THE HARDCOVER!!!!

Leave a Reply

