All We Have Is Now ~ Book Review

image

Synopsis

What would you do if you only had 24 hours left to live? This is the dilemma confronting Emerson and Vince, two teens living on the streets of Portland, OR, awaiting an asteroid on a crash course with the United States. Unfortunately, readers will find an unlikely and all-too-convenient circle of events as the teen characters try to “pay forward” a good deed. “Stay positive no matter what,” seems to be the underlying theme, but given the impending disaster, it feels a bit too sappy and unrealistic. Plot holes and questionable character decisions undermine the internal logic. The relationships between the teens and their parents are thinly developed. 

My Thoughts

I picked this audiobook out on my Hoopla App mostly because the Plot and the fact that it was only 5 hours long.

The whole end of the world scenarios scare the crap out of me. From Asteroids to Zombies and everything in between. My whole life I have been plagued by nightmares of how the world will end. Every night to the point of that they became my normal dreams. So I’m very interested in reading or listening about how other people will spend their last moments.

It did make me think about how I would spend my last hours on Earth. I would want to be with my family. To know that my kids are safe and that everyone is happy.

Emerson is a runaway due to her mother picking her boyfriend over her, the constant fighting and the stess. She has been living on the streets for about 1 1/2 years, I think. She meets Vince and from the moment they met she told him that she only wanted to be friends.

Now that the world is ending in about 27 hour a due to a huge impending asteroid they go together to end their lives on their terms. That is when they meet Carl, a man about to jump to his own death. Not because he was scared but because he thought he helped as many people as he could and felt content.
Carl asks Emerson and Vince for a wish that he could grant them. Vince asks for money. Giving Vince his wallet he asks them only to pay it forward, to help others. So they do. They find people along their way to finding the perfect spot to see the world end together.

There is some character development in this story. You get into everyone’s backstory and everything is wrapped up in the end. I was a little disappointed with the ending but it’s a great ending for the story.

How would you spend your last 24 hours?

image

Amazon B&N

3 thoughts on “All We Have Is Now ~ Book Review

Leave a Reply

