The Breadwinner Review

image

The Breadwinner by Stevie Kopas

I’ve been in a little bit of a reading slump after my terrible attempt at BookTubeAThon. I didn’t do horribly but not my best. So I decided to fall back on one of my favorite genres….horror.

Not just any horror but zombie horror! I love zombie stories. The fact that there are so many stories and point of views an author could take. Something Stevie Kopas had embraced and then released for all of us to enjoy.

The Breadwinner does follow a group of people but she tells each of their stories throughout the book.

Samson is a defense attorney who’s client’s are the worst of the worst. He is married to an awful conceded woman who only cares about his money.  When the chaos begins he just tries his best to keep his family together.

Andrew, a cop, offs trying to keep peace and order in the mayhem and destruction. His main mission is to keep his brother and his mentally unstable girlfriend safe.

Ben,  ex military, is one of my favorite characters.  He’s so sweet and caring but the one guy you are Happy to be fighting through the legions of undead.

Then we have Veronica. She is a high school track star and it’s a good thing she is. Veronica is by far one of my favorite female characters in a series.  She’s so brave and strong but since she is just a kid herself you can’t help but feel for her losses along the way.

One of the best zombie books I have read.  It is bloody and scary.  I love the fact that the zombies are just as fast as an alive person but slow down over time. It seems like they are drawn more to noise and movement so there’s the added suspense.

I love how all of the characters story lines cross over each other’s. The fact that in the end it’s not about finding a cure but just surviving.

I can’t wait to read the second book, Haven.

Thank you so much Stevie for all of the scares and feels!

image

Stevie Kopas’ s Website

Leave a Reply

