This One Summer Review

This One Summer

This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki & Mariko Tamaki

Synopsis

My Thoughts

I have been dipping more and more into the Graphic Novel world lately. I love how fast of a read they are and most of them have gorgeous artwork. This one is no exception.

This One Summer kept me turning the page not only because of the art but the story was very thought provoking. I think it is because I am a mother of two girls and I too am having issues with infertility. We are not trying to get pregnant again but I think nature took its course anyways and will not allow me to have another one.

I very much empathize with the mother in the story and I know what that anger feels like. Unlike her I do have a partner that is very understanding and supports me 100%.

I grew up also in a household of fighting. I know what its like to feel so helpless as Rose does in this novel. I liked her friendship with Windy and it reminded me of my old best friend and how we used to hang out all the time when we were younger.

It was inspiring also to me to try and set a better example for my girls. I don’t want them to have so many questions about life or even boys like Rose did. They were bombarded with more adult situations than they really understood.

I thoroughly enjoyed this graphic novel and I would recommend it.

3.5/5

2 thoughts on “This One Summer Review

Leave a Reply

