Manga Classics- Les Miserables Review

Adapted for stage and screen, loved by millions, Victor Hugo’s classic novel of love and tragedy set in 19th century France is reborn in this fantastic new manga edition!

Gorgeous and expressive art brings to life the unforgettable stories of Jean Valjean, Inspector Javert, and the tragic Fantine in this epic adaptation of Les Misérables! (Goodreads)

If you have no idea what this book/play/movie is about…then why not?

Here is a synopsis of Victor Hugo’s classic.

Introducing one of the most famous characters in literature, Jean Valjean – the noble peasant imprisoned for stealing a loaf of bread. In Les Misérables Victor Hugo takes readers deep into the Parisian underworld, immerses them in a battle between good and evil, and carries them onto the barricades during the uprising of 1832.

Within his dramatic story are themes that capture the intellect and the emotions: crime and punishment, the relentless persecution of Valjean by Inspector Javert, the desperation of the prostitute Fantine, the amorality of the rogue Thénardier and the universal desire to escape the prisons of our own minds. Les Misérables gave Victor Hugo a canvas upon which he portrayed his criticism of the French political and judicial systems, but the portrait which resulted is larger than life, epic in scope – an extravagant spectacle that dazzles the senses even as it touches the heart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I saw this book on NetGalley awhile ago and requested it for a review. Due to technical difficulties I was not able to download the book to my kindle nor get it in the mail. When I went to the library last week and found it in the graphic novel section. I was so excited to check it out.

I love this story and all of its characters. It is on my bucket list to see it on stage. It has always held a special place in my heart since I was in drama in high school. We all would sit around and sing the songs. There were times we even acted out the parts. I didn’t but  I couldn’t look away from my friends.

I also love manga and in this particular manga classic the art work is so gorgeous. I have always though that Jean Valjean was a super good looking man but goodness did the artists make him even more handsome. He is my favorite character in the book and he always has been. He is dedicated and loving towards everyone.

Fantine’s story is so tragic and every time  I either read it or mostly watch the movie version I bawl my eyes out. She loves her daughter so much and you can feel it in her words.

They are my two favorite characters.

I would love to read the other manga classics that are in this series one day!!

Leave a Reply

