Alice Book Review

Alice by Christina Henry

~~Synopsis~~

A mind-bending new novel inspired by the twisted and wondrous works of Lewis Carroll…

In a warren of crumbling buildings and desperate people called the Old City, there stands a hospital with cinderblock walls which echo the screams of the poor souls inside.

In the hospital, there is a woman. Her hair, once blond, hangs in tangles down her back. She doesn’t remember why she’s in such a terrible place. Just a tea party long ago, and long ears, and blood…

Then, one night, a fire at the hospital gives the woman a chance to escape, tumbling out of the hole that imprisoned her, leaving her free to uncover the truth about what happened to her all those years ago.

Only something else has escaped with her. Something dark. Something powerful.

And to find the truth, she will have to track this beast to the very heart of the Old City, where the rabbit waits for his Alice. (Amazon)

~~Review~~

I received this e-book from the PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet off of the NetGalley website. I asked for this book so I can read and review it. I’ve always loved the story of Alice and her adventures in Wonderland. I have read and watched most other adaptations of the story and my favorite take on it was Tim Burton’s film adaptaion.

I love Tim Burton’s work and thought that this was a pretty dark reprise from the book and Disney movie I am accustomed to. Man was I wrong.

Christina Henry’s take on this beloved story will have me looking at it differently from now on. If you are uncomfortable with reading about rape and gruesome killing then this book is not for you. It didn’t get to descriptive in the rape scenes but it does leave a bad taste in your mouth and drives you to want them to die in horrific ways, well maybe it is just me.

This story starts out with Alice in an insane asylum and cant remember her past. All she has are nightmares about a tall Rabbit with long ears. In the room next to her is a man who also can’t remember his past, his name is Hatcher. He received this name for the fact that the police found him surrounded by 5 men whom he dispatched with an axe, or hatchet.

The asylum goes up in flames and they escape. In the fire though they also released the Jabberwok, the creature that haunts Hatcher. They then go on this epic adventure in search of the Rabbit and all of those that harmed Alice and Hatcher in order to stop the Jabberwok from destroying the city.

I loved the story even though at times it caused me to squirm in my seat. I did find the ending both very well deserved but also a little underwhelming. I did enjoy it very much and would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a new dark twist on a classic.

5/5

Leave a Reply

