Cinder Review

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles Book #1)

By: Marissa Meyer

Synopsis

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future. (Goodreads)

Characters

Cinder- I would have to say one of my favorite characters of all time. She is brave, smart, pretty, and a cyborg. Which I find pretty cool even though in this book there is a lot of hate towards them. Her character development in this book is so beautifully written and I grew to love her more and more.

Iko- is Cinder’s only friend and she is an android. She has a “faulty” personality chip that makes her one of the funniest characters in the book.

Prince Kai- he is very charming but he is very sarcastic. He is brand new to the whole politics thing so he is unsure about what to properly say. He doesn’t seem to care though. I enjoyed his and Cinder’s relationship.

Adri and Pearl- This is your classic Cinderella Stepmother and Sister. They are cruel and unforgiving of Cinder.

Peony- is Cinder’s other stepsister. She is the more caring out of the three. I loved her character and the relationship she had with Cinder.

Queen Levana- She has to be one of the most evil queens I have read about. She is the Lunar Queen and wants nothing but the empire and the world. I did love her character though. I think I have a sweet spot for villains, like sharks just misunderstood. I’m not saying that I wouldn’t be happy to see her head on a spike though.

Plot

This story takes place 126 years after WWIV in the city of New Beijing. The world is suffering major losses due to a fatal disease that spreads like wild fire through the human population. There is no known cure but the leading scientists have issued a Cyborg draft for testing and finding that cure.

Cinder is our main protagonist and she happens to be a cyborg. She is also known as the best mechanic in New Beijing. Her life is pretty awful and all she wants to do is run away from it. Will she ever make her own wish come true?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Review

I have been wanting to read this book since I jumped back into the Book Community. It actually caught my eye as one of the first that I wanted to read. I heard so many good things about it and I knew I would love it….and I did!! Only I have been so busy that I haven’t had time to actually “read” the book so I did the next best thing and listened to the audio book in one day.

Marissa Meyer writes her stories so beautifully and with grace. She doesn’t dump a ton of world building on you at the very beginning. She builds it up while you read, which I liked. The only reason I am giving it a 4.5/5 stars is because I saw the BIG twist coming. Its kinda obvious too but if you didn’t catch it till the end I can see how it would be like OMG!

This is one of my favorite takes on the whole Cinderella story, first being Ever After. I think its my favorite because its unique and she doesn’t make it just a story about a girl who wants to go to the ball and fall in love. Marissa Meyer makes you fall in love with Cinder and feel for her and all the struggles she goes through, Like I said before though she is a very strong character. Not taking anything laying down and standing up for herself in the face of pure evil.

Can I just say that I love the fact that there are people who live on the moon. I love how their abilities work and their race in general. Queen Levana is so terrifying but I actually love her smoothness and her power is pretty freaking cool, for a villain.

I don’t want to keep talking about it because I am trying to keep it spoiler free but if you love fairy tales, cyborgs, strong female protagonists, and awesome stories in general then I highly recommend this book!!!!

4.5/5 stars

http://www.marissameyer.com/

Leave a Reply

