My review of….

The Gunslinger by Stephen King

This is the first book in Mr. King’s epic series and I have heard from many people that this series is his crowning achievement. He started this epic tale when he was 19 years old and has written the books along his career.

The book was recommended to me by my fellow nerdy family and friends on Facebook. They all loved it and the whole series. So I decided to give it a whirl and see what all the fuss is about. It took me a day to read it and I am still trying to figure out what the fuss IS all about.

The story is about the Gunslinger, who we find out later is named Roland, who is in pursuit of the Man in Black. Who is this Man in Black exactly? We don’t know til later but I digress. Roland travels across a desolate desert on his mission to find him. Along the way he meets some very interesting characters and finds himself in some trouble here and there. We do get glimpses of his past before the world “moved on” and it reminded me of the medieval times and that he was training to be some sort of knight, if he can manage to stay alive. His hard ass teacher is a man named Cort and he has to fight him in order to prove that he is ready to be a gunslinger.

Back on the trail to catch the Man in Black he meets a boy named Jake. Roland ends up caring deeply about the boy and ends up taking him along. Roland is faced with a terrible decision and has to choose.

Now I really didn’t get into the book like my fellow nerds and I don’t know if its because I may have read it to fast or what. I personally didn’t really like it. The characters were interesting but it just wasn’t what I expected from a Stephen King novel. I do however will be picking it back up to give it another try but not anytime soon.

3.5/5

Leave a Reply

